Weber-Morgan Board of Health Minutes of Meeting March 27, 2017

The Weber-Morgan Board of Health held its regular meeting on March 27, 2017 in the Health Department auditorium at 477 23rd Street. The meeting was called to order at 4:02 p.m. with Neil Garner presiding.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Neil Garner Vice Chair	Dave Holmstrom	Frank Brown	Brent Taylor
James Ebert	Toby Mileski	Kerry Gibson	Jim Harvey

Tina Kelley Roland Haslam

BOARD MEMBERS NOT PRESENT:

Ken Johnson

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

Brian Bennion	Kay Larrison	Louis Cooper	MaryLou Adams
Colleen Jenson	Jesse Bush	Lori Buttars	Cathy Bodily
Brian Cowan	Michelle Cooke	Scott Braeden	Jarelyn Cox
Vicky Stevenson	Ryan Klinge	Lori Greene	JoAnn Wengreen

OTHERS PRESENT:

Chris Crockett Bill Self Sean Burton Tiffiny Burton

Leia Larsen

Welcome and Introductions - Neil Garner

Neil Garner calls the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. and welcomes those in attendance and excuses Ken Johnson.

Approval of Board of Health Minutes of January 23, 2017 Motion Passes A MOTION is made by Dave Holmstrom and SECONDED by Brent Taylor to approve the minutes. Frank Brown inquires if research has been done concerning a suggestion at the last meeting to have a commercial leasing agent finish the second floor of the annex and states this should be on the agenda for the next fiscal committee meeting. Chris Crockett explains it would need to go through the county's request for proposals process. Brian Bennion states that Weber Human Services inquired about the space but has since decided it will not work for them at this point. The MOTION passes unanimously.

Board of Health Elections-Neil Garner

Motion Passes

Neil Garner opens the floor for nominations for Chair. A **MOTION** is made by **Tina Kelley** and **SECONDED** by **Dave Holmstrom** to nominate Ken Johnson. A **MOTION** is made by **Brent Taylor** and **SECONDED** by **Toby Mileski** to nominate Kerry Gibson. A **MOTION** is made by **Tina Kelley** and **SECONDED** by **Toby Mileski** to cease nominations. After discussion, a vote is cast with 6 votes for Ken Johnson and 4 votes for Kerry Gibson making Ken Johnson the new Chair.

Burton Septic System Variance Request-Brian Cowan

Motion Passes
Brian Cowan tells the Board that Sean and Tiffiny Burton have requested
a variance for a septic system on their property at 665 Ogden Canyon. He

explains the provisions and states that after reviewing the property, and seeing that the property owners are able to demonstrate compliance with the Utah State Wastewater Rules, the health department staff would recommend approval. He answers questions about the size of the property, soil type, the type of system, and, since there is no Wastewater Advisory Committee at this time to review this request, consideration from the Board would be sufficient. A MOTION is made by Toby Mileski and SECONDED by Roland Haslam to approve the variance request. The MOTION passes unanimously.

Wastewater Program Presentation-Brian Cowan Information/Motion Passes Brian Cowan gives a history of septic systems installed in western Weber County in the 1980's and problems that pursued. Alternative systems were introduced in the early 1990's and the Weber-Morgan Health Department was the first health department in the state to start initiating those alternative systems. The Board appointed an advisory committee (the Wastewater Advisory Committee) in 1998 made up of experts in the field to discuss issues and give direction to the Board. Weber-Morgan Health Department still permits more of these systems than any other health department statewide, has the most trained and certified staff, and provides models for other health departments. He further explains how often the Wastewater Advisory Committee has met in the last ten years. Some board members express how the committee was needed at a certain point, worked the way it was meant to, but the time has come that it may not be needed as the health department has staff that are leading the state in environmental issues as was just demonstrated by the professional and competent manner in which the variance was just approved. A MOTION is made by Toby Mileski and SECONDED by Kerry Gibson to eliminate the Wastewater Advisory Committee. The MOTION passes unanimously. Neil Garner asks Brian Cowan to thank those who were still serving on the committee for their service to this Board and let them know how much they were appreciated. He encourages the Board to look at the Air Quality Advisory Committee to see if this committee is still needed.

Community Health Improvement Plan-Brian Bennion Information Only Brian Bennion passes out a packet and updates the Board on the Community Health Improvement Plan (CHIP). He states that results included in the CHIP are from our community partners and, although done independently, aligns with both the State's Health and Intermountain Healthcare's Improvement Plans. Other community partners have shown interest in the data and the health department continues to work with these partners. There is discussion on strategies, using an aggressive approach, national numbers of opioid deaths, poverty, and focusing on the cause of these issues. Brian Bennion states that this is not a health department improvement plan but a community improvement plan with community partners deciding where to focus. The Board requests moving forward and working with the community to make improvements.

Health Promotion Boost Funding-6 Month Report- Jesse Bush Information Only Jesse Bush gives a presentation on four projects that were expanded with the boost funding: Morgan Youth Leadership, Adult Falls Prevention, Suicide Prevention, and Teen Health. He goes over each project's purpose, progress, and outlines any barriers. He thanks the Board for the funding and answers questions on working with school districts and identifying and evaluating measures of effectiveness. Neil Garner expresses appreciation for the work they are doing.

Director's Report-Brian Bennion

Information Only

Brian Bennion recognizes five staff members that received awards from their divisions: Lori Greene from Health Promotions, Ryan Klinge from Environment Health, Kay Larrison from Administration, Heidi O'Neal from Nursing, and Vicky Stevenson from WIC. He gives a brief outline of why each were nominated by their peers.

Chairman's Report-Neil Garner

Information Only

Neil Garner expresses thanks to board members for their hard work and welcomes Roland Haslam to the Board. He also thanks Brian Bennion for keeping them up to date with the legislative session.

Public comment

There are no comments.

Executive Closed Session-Neil Garner

Motion Passes

A **MOTION** is made by **James Ebert** and **SECONDED** by **Brent Taylor** to discuss the character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an individual. A roll call vote is taken.

James Ebert- Aye Brent Taylor- Aye

Dave Holmstrom- Aye

Frank Brown- Aye

Neil Garner- Aye

Tina Kelley-Aye

Roland Haslam-Aye

Kerry Gibson- Aye

Jim Harvey- Aye

Toby Mileski- Aye

The **MOTION** passes unanimously.

Reconvene Regular Meeting-Neil Garner

Motion Passes

Neil Garner requests a motion to reconvene to the regular meeting. A **MOTION** is made by **Toby Mileski** and **SECONDED** by **Kerry Gibson** to reconvene the regular meeting.

Action from Closed Meeting-Neil Garner

Information Only/No Action

Neil Garner states that there is no action to be taken from the closed meeting other than some guidance.

The meeting adjourns at 6:25 p.m. The next meeting is scheduled for April 24, 2017 at 4:00 p.m.